• Talk To Astrologers
  • Brihat Horoscope
  • Personalized Horoscope 2024
  • Live Astrologers
  • Top Followed Astrologers

Nakshatra: Know Names Of 27 Nakshatras & Astrology Characteristics

A Nakshatra is considered very important in Vedic Astrology. Unlike zodiac signs, Nakshatras can be found mentioned in ancient texts like Vedas. Let’s have a look at each Nakshatra and what do these Nakshatras tell about your characteristics, personality, traits, inclination and other dimensions of life as per astrology:

What is a Nakshatra?

There are 27 Nakshatras ‘Nakshatra’ is a term used for lunar mansion in Vedic astrology. They are called lunar mansions because moon resides in each of the nakshatra for approximately one day. Each lunar mansion of 13°20’ length is subdivided into four quarters of 3°20’ called padas. As per Hindu Mythology, a nakshatra is one of 27 houses along the ecliptic. The nakshatra or lunar constellations are connected to the natal signs of the moon. Moon takes 28 days to move through 28 signs of the zodiac and changes its signs or houses after every 2.3 days. The moon is the lord of all nakshatra and sun is the lord of all the astrological signs. The lord of each nakshatra governs the planetary position and hence, responsible for forecasting the course of an individual.

Importance of Nakshatras

Nakshatra is responsible to give an analysis of one's thinking power, insights, characteristics and even helps to calculate your dasha period ( birth chart ). People use the concept of Nakshatra for astrological analysis and accurate predictions. Nakshatra is based on a list of 27 asterisms and each nakshatra has a powerful deity that places within it. Each nakshatra has its own shakti and power and is governed as ‘lord’ by one of the nine planets following the same order: South lunar node, Venus, Sun, Moon, Mars, North lunar node, Jupiter, Saturn, and Mercury. The sequence repeats itself three times to cover all 27 nakshatras.

Difference between Nakshatra and Zodiac Sign

If you divide the sky into 12 equal parts, each part is termed as zodiac sign but, if you divide the sky into 27 equal parts, then each part is termed as nakshatra. As we all know that sky, like any circular body is of 360°. If we divide 360° with 12 then, a zodiac sign comes out as 30°. Similarly, for nakshatras, if we divide 360° with 27 then, a nakshatra comes out as 13.33° (approximately). So, there are 27 nakshatras and 12 zodiac signs, namely Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Hence, nakshatra being a smaller part and zodiac sign being a bigger part, 2.25 (approx) nakshatra comes in a zodiac sign.

What you Need to Know about Nakshatra Astrology ?

  • Nakshatra as per Your Personality

If you are a strong believer in Vedic astrology, you must know the importance of planetary motion throughout your life. Right from the birth of an individual to finally death of a being, birth stars and nakshatra names are everything that you need to keep an account in order to neutralize the zonal strength of a planet.

  • Birth Chart as per Nakshatra

Used as a practice for a long time, Nakshatra and planetary movements are calculated during the birth of a newborn and hence, gives a calculative analysis of an individual’s birth chart.

  • Formation of 27 Nakshatra

From giving you positions of sun and moon to finally responsible for giving you an account of birth time, the Nakshatra in which the moon is positioned is considered as your Birth Star or Nakshatra.

AstroSage Helps you Find your Nakshatra

Being used as celestial markers, the older tradition of Nakshatra is based on the sectors of 28 asterisms. From giving planetary positions to finally help you in finding your birth star, the Nakshatra Calculator is everything you need to get a calculative analysis of koota-guna matching. Nakshatra centric matching is important in helping you find a connection between the gunas and the lordships. With Vedic astrology giving more importance to relationship compatibility, the Kundli matchmaking is one of the important aspects that one needs to consider before marriage. Apart from giving much insistence on the point of ascendance, sun sign, rasi or the moon sign; Nakshatra Finder is one of an important element that helps you find your birth star. There are 28 Nakshatras but only 27 Nakshatras are considered for calculation. So, using the Nakshatra Finder and Nakshatra Calculator, you can find nakshatra names and other astrological details.

Features of Nakshatra Calculator

  • Find your Moon Sign or Rashi
  • Find your Birth Star or Janma Nakshatra
  • Find your Zodiac Sign
  • Find your Birthstone
  • Find your Chinese year of birth and the ruling animal

Astrological services for accurate answers and better feature

33% off

Dhruv Astro Software - 1 Year

'Dhruv Astro Software' brings you the most advanced astrology software features, delivered from Cloud.

Brihat Horoscope
What will you get in 250+ pages Colored Brihat Horoscope.
Are money matters a reason for the dark-circles under your eyes?
Ask A Question
Is there any question or problem lingering.
Career / Job
Worried about your career? don't know what is.
AstroSage Year Book
AstroSage Yearbook is a channel to fulfill your dreams and destiny.
Career Counselling
The CogniAstro Career Counselling Report is the most comprehensive report available on this topic.

Astrological remedies to get rid of your problems

Red Coral / Moonga
(3 Carat)

Ward off evil spirits and strengthen Mars.

Buy Genuine Gemstones at Best Prices.
Energised Yantras for You.
Original Rudraksha to Bless Your Way.
Feng Shui
Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.
Praise the Lord with Divine Energies of Mala.
Jadi (Tree Roots)
Keep Your Place Holy with Jadi.

Buy Brihat Horoscope

250+ pages @ Rs. 599/-

Brihat Horoscope

AstroSage on MobileAll Mobile Apps

AstroSage TVSubscribe

Buy Gemstones

Best quality gemstones with assurance of

Buy Yantras

Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of

Buy Feng Shui

Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.from

Buy Rudraksh

Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of


Live Astrologers