Do you want to get married?

FREE Matrimony site by No. 1 astrology portal AstroSage.com

Home » 2013 » Calendar » Indian Festivals 2013 Published: November 30, 2012

Indian Festivals 2013

List of Indian Festivals in 2013 We are providing a comprehensive list of Indian Festivals in 2013. Indian festivals are much awaited and welcomed with great warmth. India is a country where one can see a perfect blend of religion and communities. You might find people saying that the festivals in India are greater than the days in a year. Well, the line is true to some extent. The Indian festivals bring a lot of joy and prosperity with them. All the festivals are celebrated with immense enthusiasm and devotion. Festivities mark togetherness and bonding and are celebrated throughout the nation with a lot of zeal. Each and every festival in India carries some mythological importance with it. The festivals are a very important part of people living in India. People want to know beforehand that when is their favorite festival falling in the coming year. Such is the enthusiasm within people and such is the importance.

Following is the list of Indian festivals for 2013. Everyone wants to know beforehand about the holidays that he/she will be getting in the coming year. With this one can plan for the holidays and leaves. Here is the list of holidays along with Indian festivals in 2013.

HOLIDAYS DATE MONTH DAY
New Year 1 January Tuesday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti 5 January Saturday
Makar sankranti 14 January Monday
*Warafaat 25 January Friday
Republic day 26 January Saturday
Mauni Amavasya 10 February Sunday
Basant panchmi 15 February Friday
Ravidas jayanti 25 February Monday
Maha shivratri 10 March Sunday
Holika dahan 26 March Tuesday
Holi 27 March Wednesday
Good Friday 29 March Friday
Ambedkar jayanti, Baisakhi 14 April Sunday
Ram navmi 19 April Friday
Mahavir jayanti 24 April Wednesday
Buddha Purnima 25 May Saturday
Rathyatra 10 July Wednesday
*Id 1 August Friday
Independence day 15 August Thursday
Raksha bandhan 21 August Wednesday
Shri Krishna Janmashtmi 28 August Wednesday
Vishwakarma Puja 17 September Tuesday
Gandhi jayanti 2 October Wednesday
Pitra visarjan 4 October Friday
Vijayadashmi (dussehra) 13 October Sunday
*bakrid 16 October Wednesday
Deepavali 3 November Sunday
*Muharram 15 November Friday
Kartik Purnima, Guru Nanak 17 November Sunday
Christmas day 25 December Wednesday

*The date of Muslim holidays can change according to the moon sight.

India enjoys a blend of all the festivals that belong to other religions. Diwali is celebrated with the same amount of joy and enthusiasm in which Id is celebrated. All the festivals are given importance irrespective of religion. Diwali, Holi, Christmas, Id, each and every festival is celebrated with immense rejoice.

Most of the Hindu festivals are determined on the basis of the position of the Sun and the Moon. The Muslims festivals are determined on the basis of the sight of Moon. The festivals give a chance to humans to spend time with their family and friends and enjoy a good time together.The Hindu festivals are associated to some or the other Gods as well as Goddesses. A special deity is revered on the associated festival. Just as the biggest festival of Hindus, Diwali is celebrated to commemorate the return of Lord Ram with wife Sita and brother Laxman.

Dussehra is celebrated on the day when Lord Rama defeated Ravana and saved his wife. In the similar manner, Holi is celebrated when Lord Vishnu assassinated Hiranyakashyap. Navratri is celebrated in order to venerate and worship the nine different forms of Goddesses. Festivals in India are the harbinger of peace and prosperity and bring great luck to the lives of people.

List of festivals and holidays clearly shows the days on which a particular festival is falling. You can easily plan for the holiday after knowing about the exact dates of different festivals. The dates of festivals and holidays are accurate and only the dates of Muslim festivals might change due to the moon. The list of holidays and Indian festivals in 2013 can help you to do preparations in advance for the upcoming festival. Indian festivals are unique. The festivals such as Christmas and Id are also celebrated in a manner as if we are in the country of those people to whom these festivals belong. The list of holidays and festivals of India in 2013 is a perfect guide to know about the accurate date of the festivals and holidays.

AstroSage TVSubscribe

Latest Articles

Buy Gemstones

Best quality gemstones with assurance of AstroSage.com

Buy Yantras

Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of AstroSage.com

Buy Navagrah Yantras

Yantra to pacify planets and have a happy life .. get from AstroSage.com

Buy Rudraksh

Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of AstroSage.com

Free Personalized Horoscope 2015

Name
Gender Male Female
Date

2015 Reports

FREE Matrimony - Shaadi

Like us on Facebook?