Personalized
Horoscope
  • AstroSage Brihat Horoscope
  • AstroSage Big Horoscope
  • Ask A Question
  • Raj Yoga Report
  • Career Counseling

Jain Calendar 2020: Fasts and Holidays

Jain Calendar 2020 Jain Calendar 2020 consists of numerous fasts and festivals that are celebrated with great enthusiasm and joy in Jainism. This is a calendar where all the dates of rites and rituals of Jainism are included. It is a better way to plan one’s events accordingly and hence Astrosage has come up with this organized Calendar with dates and times, named as Jain calendar or Jain Panchang.

Indian holidays are diversified on the basis of region, culture, region and practices. There are different religions defined in India including Hinduism, Sikhism, Islam, Buddhism, Christianity, and Jainism whose festivals and rites are celebrated and performed across the whole country and incorporated in our one common Calendar, i.e. Indian Calendar. If we consider Jain religion, there are numerous fasts and festivals observed by jain community or Jains across the globe. During these events, Jain natives get together with their family members, relatives and friends in order to celebrate it with great joy.

To continue this joy and happiness, we present Jain Calendar 2020 which incorporates dates and times of all important fasts and festivals. All these dates are based on the relative motion of Sun and Moon.

Know your moon sign: Moon Sign Calculator

We have put all the important dates and days for fasts and festivals of Jains in a tabulated form to get details quickly. The details are as under below:

Jain Calendar 2020: List of Holidays

January 2020
Date Festival
Jan 02, Thursday Shri Rajendra Surishwar Diwas
Jan 8, Wednesday Rohini Vrat
Jan 21, Tuesday Shitalnath Janma Tapa
Jan 22, Wednesday Meru Trayodashi & Adinath Nirvana Kalyanak
Jan 23, Thursday Rishabhdev Moksha
Jan 30, Thursday Dashlakshan Start
February 2020
Date Festival
Feb 01, Saturday Maryada Mahotsava
Feb 04, Tuesday Rohini Vrat
Feb 08, Saturday Shri Jitendra Rath Yatra & Dashlakshan End
March 2020
Date Festival
Mar 02, Monday Phalguna Ashtanhika Start
Mar 03, Tuesday Rohini Vrat
Mar 08, Sunday Phalguni Chaumasi Chaudas
Mar 09, Monday Ashtanhika End
Mar 16, Monday Varshitapa Arambha
Mar 29, Sunday Dashlakshan Start
Mar 30, Monday Rohini Vrat
Mar 31, Tuesday Ayambil Oli Start (Chaitra Navapada)
April 2020
Date Festival
Apr 06, Monday Mahavir Jayanti
Apr 07, Tuesday Daslakshan (1/3) End
Apr 08, Wednesday Ayambil Oli End
Apr 26, Sunday Varshitapa Parana & Rohini Vrat
May 2020
Date Festival
May 03, Sunday Shri Mahavir Swami Kaivalya Gyan Divas (Kevalgyan)
May 08, Friday Jyeshtha Jinwar Vrat Start
May 19, Tuesday Shri Anantnath Janma Tap
May 23, Sunday Rohini Vrat
June 2020
Date Festival
Jun 05, Friday Jyeshtha Jinwar Vrat End
Jun 20, Saturday Rohini Vrat
Jun 27, Saturday Ashtahnika Start
July 2020
Date Festival
Jul 04, Saturday Chaumasi Chaudas
Jul 05, Sunday Ashtahnika End
Jul 17, Friday Rohini Vrat
Jul 27, Saturday Parshvanath Moksha
August 2020
Date Festival
Aug 13, Thursday Rohini Vrat
Aug 16, Sunday Paryushan Parva Rambha
Aug 19, Wednesday Kalpasutra Paath & Samvatsari
Aug 20, Thursday Tailadhar Tapa
Aug 23, Sunday Kshamavani Parva & Dashlakshan Start
September 2020
Date Festival
Sep 01, Tuesday Daslakshan End
Sep 10, Thursday Rohini Vrat
October 2020
Date Festival
Oct 7, Wednesday Rohini Vrat
Oct 23, Friday Ayambil Oli Start (Ashwin Naupada)
Oct 31, Saturday Ayambil Oli End
November 2020
Date Festival
Nov 3, Tuesday Rohini Vrat
Nov 13, Friday Shri Padma Prabhu Janma Tapa
Nov 14, Saturday Lakshmi Puja
Nov 15, Sunday Mahavir Nirvana
Nov 19, Thursday Gyan Panchami/ Saubhagya Panchami/ Labh Panchami
Nov 22, Sunday Kartika Ashtahnika Start
Nov 29, Sunday Kartika Chaumasi Chaudas
Nov 30, Monday Ashtahnika End/ Rohini Vrat/ Kartik Rath Yatra
December 2020
Date Festival
Dec 10, Thursday Mahavir Swami Deeksha
Dec 25, Friday Mauni Ekadashi
Dec 28, Monday Rohini Vrat

Note: All dates and festivals may vary according to the latitude and longitude of different cities or places. They may fall in different geographical locations. Hence, you are recommended to check the location first in order to get the correct information of Jain Holidays 2020.

Jain Calendar 2020 incorporates great festivals and fasts among which Shri Mahavir Jayanti, Paryushan Parva Rambha, Mahavir Nirvana, Diwali, and so on are major Jain festivals. The birthday of Lord Mahavir, also known as Vardhamana, will fall on March 29, this year, which is being celebrated by Jains with great enthusiasm and energy. They are following his way of teachings and practicing Karma. This additionally implies embracing the way of good conduct, faith and knowledge in their lives which prompts extraordinary thriving and joy.

Paryushan Parva Rambha, another big sacred event in Jainism, falls on September 07 this year. It is celebrated continuously for 8 days by Swetambara and 10 days by Digambara (Two sect of Jains) as per Jain Panchang 2020. It is believed that they increase their level of spirituality in this period by performing fasts and offering prayers. One more big festival being celebrated by Jains is Diwali. It is also believed to be the day when Lord Mahavir attained Moksha. It is also the start of a new year of Jains which starts with Pratipada followed by Diwali. Businessmen start their financial year from this day as per their tradition. It is the time of celebrations, happiness, fun and good luck. Subsequently, festivals in Jain religion is a method for individuals to thrive and satisfy their desires for an ideal and cheerful life.

Jain Calendar 2020 explains that apart from festivals, fasting is a well known ritual in Jainism. Majorly, there are four types of fasting popular in Jains. Let’s read below the types of fasting:

  1. Complete fasting

According to this type of fasting, you have to give up food and water completely for a specified period. Time limit for this fasting varies from person to person. Like Monks go on fasting for more than a week or a week. This is the type of fasting in which a person does not wish to come back to a normal life. They only want Moksha or salvation by doing such fasting. Though it is not very common, but saints exist in this era too.

  1. Partial fasting

Partial fast is a type of fasting in which person takes control over his taste buds. Eating less than usual in a day in order to get full results is prominent. Generally, Jains are pure vegetarians. They usually avoid ginger-garlic, onion in their eating menu. While fasting, they give up their taste and survive only on essential things.

  1. Vruti Sankshepa

The third type of fasting in Jainism is Vruti Sankshepa, in which number of consuming items get limited. One will give up a particular food item for the rest of the life.

Know more about Indian Festivals & their Significance

  1. Rasa Parityaga

This fasting method also incorporates giving up food items. However, the only difference is that here you need to give up your favourite food item. The basic concept behind this type of fasting is minimizing the need of resources. Since now -a days the resources are minimum and animals are not getting the proper food, hence during this fasting we offer our contribution to others, who actually need.

Jainism is categorized in two divisions: Svetambara and Digambara. The basic difference in between these two lies in the understanding of scriptures and rituals. Worshipping may differ but the main motto of life will remain the same as “Always help, and do not harm others”

Therefore, we hope that our Jain Calendar 2020 will be quite helpful for you, thank you for visiting on our website!

Astrological services for accurate answers and better feature

50% off

Get AstroSage Year Book with 50% discount

Buy AstroSage Year Book at Best Price.

Big Horoscope
What will you get in 100+ pages Big Horoscope.
Finance
Are money matters a reason for the dark-circles under your eyes?
Ask A Question
Is there any question or problem lingering.
Career / Job
Worried about your career? don't know what is.
Love
Will you be able to rekindle with your lost love?
Health & Fitness
It is said that health is the real wealth. If you are not

Astrological remedies to get rid of your problems

Red Coral / Moonga
(3 Carat)

Get the Best Results of Your Deeds with this Combo.

Gemstones
Buy Genuine Gemstones at Best Prices.
Yantras
Energised Yantras for You.
Rudraksha
Original Rudraksha to Bless Your Way.
Feng Shui
Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.
Mala
Praise the Lord with Divine Energies of Mala.
Jadi (Tree Roots)
Keep Your Place Holy with Jadi.

Buy Your Big Horoscope

100+ pages @ Rs. 699/-

Big horoscope

AstroSage on MobileAll Mobile Apps

AstroSage TVSubscribe

Buy Gemstones

Best quality gemstones with assurance of AstroSage.com

Buy Yantras

Take advantage of Yantra with assurance of AstroSage.com

Buy Feng Shui

Bring Good Luck to your Place with Feng Shui.from AstroSage.com

Buy Rudraksh

Best quality Rudraksh with assurance of AstroSage.com

Reports